Learn More About

St. Patrick Catholic Church - Atebubu

St Patrick Atebubu

Atebubu is the district capital of the Atebubu – Amanten District. It carved out of the then Atebubu District in 2004 when the district was divided into two – Pru and Atebubu – Amanten Districts. The population of Atebubu – Amanten District, according to the 2010 Population and Housing Census, is 105,938 representing 4.6 percent of the region’s total population. Atebubu is about 158 km from the regional capital, Sunyani. The district has a surface area of about 2,624 square kilometers.

Atebubu St. Patrick’s catholic parish was established in 1971 under the pastoral care of Kumasi Diocese. Rev. Fr. Martin Buckley, an Irish, was the first parish priest. Before its establishment in 1971, Atebubu parish was under the pastoral care of Jamasi parish from 1958 to 1971. In 1973 the parish came under the pastoral care of Sunyani Diocese. In 1995, when Konongo-Mampong Diocese was created, Atebubu parish came under its pastoral care. Atebubu parish came under the pastoral care of Techiman Diocese when it was created in 2008. Rev. Fr. Peter Yeboah became the first parish priest. Currently Very Rev. Fr. John Effah Awiti is the parish priest with Rev. Fr. Richard Bataabe as his associate. It is the deanery center of the Atebubu Deanery.

The parish has two religious congregations namely; Society of Jesus Mary Joseph (J.M.J) and Handmaids of the Holy Child Jesus (H.H.C.J) residing and working effectively in the education and health.

About Us
Diocese logo

The Catholic Diocese of Techiman envisions a harmonious society where reconciliation, justice and peace prevail; and God’s people attain spiritual growth.
Contact Us

Feel free to contact us anytime.
Tel: +233 50 346 5101
Mail: cathedral@cdtechiman.org
Social Media