St. Paul's Cathedral

Cathedral Administrator: V. Rev. Fr. Francis Anane Yeboah
Assistant. Administrator: Rev. Fr. Solomon Ramsey Agbey
PPC President: Mr. Gabriel Justice Addow
Catechist: Mr. Felix Antwi

Address: P. O. Box 6, Techiman
Contact: 0200389080/0261254315

Sunday Masses: 6 a.m., 8 a.m. 10 a.m.
Weekday Masses: Mon to Fri-6 a.m.
Basic Christian Community: Tuesdays 7 p.m. - 8 p.m.
Adoration: Tuesdays 8 a.m. - 1 p.m.

Techiman is the Capital of the Techiman Municipal. It is a nodal town, where trunk roads from Sunyani, Kumasi, Wa and Tamale converge. It gained the status of a Municipality in 2004 and subsequently, Techiman North was separated from it in 2012. The population of the Municipality, according to the 2010 Population and Housing Census, is 147,788 representing 6.4 percent of the region's total population. The famous Techiman market is one of the largest agricultural produce markets in the country. The Techiman Municipality has a land surface area of 649.0714 sq. km. 

The St. Paul's Cathedral Parish traces its history to one Opanin Yaw Boamah, a native stool (Asipim) designer, who brought the Catholic faith from Kwahu around 1923. He started the church with his brothers Opanin Kwasi Twumpuro, Opanin Yaw Ntoah and others. At that time, one Op. Anikorkor had founded a Catholic community at Akrofrom, and from time to time, the new church in Techiman joined those at Akrofrom to Wenchi Koase for Mass whenever a priest visited Koase. The church began on Nana Sanaahene's veranda. Later they moved to build a small chapel at the present house of Opanin Andrew Yeboah (Yaw Ntoah). This was built by the community towards the arrival of the first parish priest Rev. Fr. R. V. Ooyen, SMA.

Having been called in the chief palace and warned not to make noise during churchservice, they relocated and built a new and larger church at the current site. On 13th October 1991, the church was dedicated by the late Rt. Rev. James Kwadwo Owusu, Bishop of Sunyani. The foundation stone was laid by the late Nana Kwakye Ameyaw II (1961 – 1988) Omanhene of Techiman. The first visiting priest was Rev. Fr. Fisher, SMA, who was from KBK parish. Though, he started the parish in about the year 1924 – 1927, he did not baptize any faithful until Rev. Fr. R. V Ooyen the first residential priest baptized people on 31st day of May, 1934. The SVD's took over with the late Rev. Fr. Peter Wildenburg, SVD, (1974-1978) and Rev. Fr. Charles Lariosa as his assistant (1974-1980). The parish was handed over to the Late Msgr. John Oppong Baah, the first Diocesan Priest (1992-1998) and was succeeded by Msgr. John Boachie Gyan in 1998 until Techiman Diocese was created in 2008. When Techiman became diocese, Rev. Fr. Andrew Kwame Takyia became the first Cathedral Administrator (2008-2012) and Very Rev. Fr. Francis Kwame Anane Yeboah took over from him in June 2012 to date. He is being assisted by Rev. Fr. Solomon Ramsey Agbey.


St. Paul's Cathedral – Techiman
President: Mr. Gabriel Justice Addow (0246569823)
Catechist: Mr. Felix Antwi (0240728635)

St. Peter – Sansama
President: Mr. Anthony Nyame (0244939687
Catechist: Mr. Augustine Berko (0553954700
Mr. Peter Abrefa (0247929298)

St. Anthony – Traa
President: Mr. John Yeboah (0247886495)
Catechist: Mr. James Saase Boadi (0275422946)

St. John – Forikrom
President: Stephen Kofi Ameyaw (0541478748)
Catechist: Mr. Felix Antwi (0240728635)

St. John – Anomatoa
President: Mr. George Zuku (0249599507)
Catechist: Mr. Peter Abrefa (0247929298)

St. Gabriel – Bamiri
President: Mr. Samuel Opoku
Catechist: Mr. John Oppong Boamah (0200490089)
Francis K. Takyi (0208932063)
Philbert Popielo (0240353265)

St. George – Attabourso No. 2
President: Alex Ambenyige
Catechist: John Bosco Kpeninye (0558882136)

St. Francis – Asantanso
President: Mr. Thaddeus Mwin-Era
Catechist: Mr. Samuel Saatuo (0201108324)

St. Martin – Akrufi
President: Mr. Matthew Ziem (0505128067)
Catechist: Mr. Francis K. Takyi (0208932063)