St. Peter's - Abourso

    Priest In-Charge: V. Rev. Fr. John Kofi Takyi
    PPC President: Mr. Thomas Osei
    Catechist: Mr. John Nsoh

    Address: P. O. Box 445, Abourso

    Sunday Masses: 6:30 a.m., 9:30 a.m.
    Weekday Masses: Wed-7 p.m./Fri 6 a.m
    Adoration of Blessed Sacrament: Tuesdays 9 a.m. - 12 noon

The St. Peter's Catholic Church at Abourso, began as one of the Small Christian Communities set up in 1994 by the Late Msgr. John Oppong Baah, when he was the parish priest of the then St. Paul's parish in Techiman. As the community grew in number, Mr. Joseph Owusu Yeboah, known popularly as 'Tommy Brothers’, donated twelve-building plots of land to the community to start a new church. In 2001, under the pastoral leadership of Msgr. John Boakye Gyan, two of the Small Christian Communities in Techiman, Tunsuase and Abourso, were merged to form the St. Peter’s church at Abourso. 

On 22nd April, 2001, this new church had its first Mass in one of the classrooms of ASEC school, presided over by Msgr. John Boakye Gyan. The Community became more organized when the parish priest sent Rev. Fr. Stephen Ekow Bosomafi, when he was a seminarian for pastoral assignment. The community chose the name 'St. Peter' – the 'Rock' – because it reflected the name of the suburb - Abourso. When Techiman Diocese was created, Abourso become a Quasi Parish with Very. Rev. Fr. John Kofi Takyi, the Vicar General of the Diocese, as its pastor since its creation.


St. Peter – Abourso
President:Thomas Osei 
Catechist: John Nsoh 

St. Mary – Twimia Nkwanta
President: John Owusu 
Catechist: Charles Korsah

Divine Mercy - Nkwaeso
President: Dery Eusibius 
Catechist: Oppong Kusi Michael 

St. Dominic – New Krobo
President: John Appau Karikari 
Catechist: John Nsoh